All Saints Anglican Parish

Traditional Episcopal

photograph of altar (31KB)

Our Parish

All Saints Anglican Church was founded in 1996 to ensure the continuation of historic Anglican Christianity in the Western suburbs of Chicago. The parish moved to its current location in Bolingbrook in 2002. In keeping with Christ's Commandment to "love thy neighbor", this parish is open to all who seek His holy companionship. Here, may those who sorrow find comfort; the weary, find rest; the saddened, find joy; the stranger, find friends; the troubled, find peace; and above all, may everyone of us, find at work and in our daily endeavors, a lasting sense of God's Divine presence, and unconditional love.

We Believe

The Church is the Body of Christ and holds to these cornerstones:

  • The Bible (Old and New Testaments) is the Word of God.
  • The Ordained Ministry (Bishop, Priest and Deacon) in the Apostolic Succession.
  • The seven Ecumenical Councils of the undivided Church.
  • The seven Sacraments which convey grace, and through which Jesus is known to us.
  • The Apostles' Creed and Nicene Creed are our standards of Faith.
  • The 1928 Book of Common Prayer is the basis of our corporate worship.

Feel Welcome

All Saints' parish life first and foremost flows from the centrality of our Eucharistic Worship together.

The extensions of our common worship find their place in the several parish activities that are available to our members:

  • Youth Group
  • Acolyte Guild
  • Children's Sunday School
  • Anglican Church Women
  • Anglican Church Men
  • Music and Choir
  • Altar Guild
  • Bible Study
  • Enquirers' Classes
  • Community Outreach
  • Parish Social Activities

Becoming a Member

How does one become a Christian and, more specifically, an Anglican? The New Testament teaches (Acts 2:38; Rom. 6:1-11) that one becomes a Christian through the sacrament of Baptism.

A person comes into full fellowship with the Anglican Church when he or she has received the Sacrament of Confirmation at the hands of a Bishop. Those who have already been confirmed by a Bishop are received into our Communion by the Bishop of the local diocese. Persons are confirmed or received after having attended a series of instruction classes.

People who wish to become members of this parish should talk with the Rector.

Guidelines for Holy Communion

Parishioners who wish to learn more about what to do during Holy Communion can download a pdf.

Guidelines for Holy Communion

The Province of Christ the King

The Province of Christ the King follows the teachings of Jesus Christ, standing by the historic faith in Episcopal tradition. The guiding principles of this faith are in the 1928 Book of Common Prayer and, more importantly, in the teachings of the two Testaments and in the 2000-year tradition of the Christian Church. It is a faith entrusted to us that we might, with God's help, maintain and enlarge in our own time, and pass on undiminished to those who follow us.

The Province of Christ the King is an independent body of Episcopal Churches that was formed in 1978 to ensure the continuation of historic Anglican Christianity in America. The need for a new Province arose because of changes in 1976 in the fundamental faith and practice of the Episcopal Church in the United States of America (ECUSA).

Concerned by these changes, a group of Episcopal clergy and laity gathered in 1977 in St. Louis, Missouri, and subscribed to a statement of faith known as the Affirmation of St. Louis, in which they confirmed their commitment to orthodox Christianity and Anglican teachings. Acting under the authority of this affirmation, six Western parishes of the Episcopal Church joined together to form the Anglican Diocese (now Province) of Christ the King. The Rev. Robert Sherwood Morse, rector of St. Peter's Church in Oakland, California, was elected Bishop and consecrated (the requisite three Bishops having consented) on January 28, 1978. The Rt. Rev. Albert A. Chambers, retired Bishop of Springfield, Illinois, served as chief consecrator.

In the twenty-five years since its small beginnings, the Diocese of Christ the King has grown into a Province of four dioceses - the Archepiscopal Diocese, the Diocese of the Western States, the Diocese of the Atlantic States, and the Diocese of the Southwestern States. These dioceses, each with its own Bishop and now embracing over 60 parishes, are commited to establishing new parishes throughout the United States.

To sustain rapid growth, the Province of Christ the King founded St. Joseph of Arimathea Anglican Theological College in Berkeley, California. Since 1979, the seminary has supplied an increasing number of committed and learned clergymen to parishes throughout the Province.